Daily Archives: February 12, 2012

Cultural Remembrance: Whitney Houston

Grammy Award winning vocal powerhouse Whitney Houston has passed away at the age of 48. The Newark, NJ star (who discovered by her mentor Clive Davis) was found dead in her Beverly Hills Hilton hotel room and she was in Los Angeles to celebrate the Grammy’s and attend Clive Davis’ annual pre-Grammy concert tonight. She is survived by her mother Cissy Houston, her only child and daughter Bobbi Kristina, her cousin Dionne Warwick, her godmother Aretha Franklin, and her ex-husband Bobby Brown. Jennifer Hudson and Chaka Khan is scheduled to perform a riveting tribute to Whitney at tonight’s Grammy Awards. So sad to hear Whitney is really gone. I hope it was a sick joke but it’s actually true. Not only is this tragic but extremely upsetting. She just wrapped up production on her film, Sparkle and she was also preparing for a musical comeback. Whitney not only had the Voice but she was a gifted actor from her memorable roles in The Bodyguard, The Preacher’s Wife and Waiting to Exhale. This is a vocalist who had I to memorize her music for my grade school graduation and school assemblies. She was THE voice of pop music. Rest in peace, Whitney.

Below is CulturalToast.com’s favorite Whitney Houston songs in no particular order…

Queen of the Night (from The Bodyguard Soundtrack)

If I Told You That (from My Love is Your Love album)

I’m Your Baby Tonight (from the same name album)

I Wanna Dance With Somebody (from the Whitney album)

How Will I Know (from the Whitney album)

Run To You (from The Bodyguard Soundtrack)

All The Man I Need (from the I’m Your Baby Tonight album)

You Give Good Love (from the Whitney Houston album)

Why Does It Hurt So Bad (from the Waiting to Exhale soundtrack)

Heartbreak Hotel featuring Faith Evans and Kelly Price (from My Love is Your Love album)

Could I Have This Kiss Forever featuring Enrique Igelisas

Cultural Remembrance is a feature honoring the dearly departed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers