My Africa Is Presents “How Do Africans Kiss?”

I caught this video on Dream Hampton’s blog and I had to share this with CulturalToast.com readers. Growing up as a proud Nigerian, I still found it cringeworthy to watch Africans kiss in Nollywood films. I cannot even fathom witnessing my parents and loved ones kissing. There’s something about that romantic gesture that screams the following: fake, over the top and simply extra. I had it fascinating that there’s a documentary (done by My Africas) discussing this topic and I agree with every word Adepero Oduye had to say about this topic.

About My Africa Is:

My Africa Is is a documentary series taking you on a journey across the continent through the eyes of an insider. We know what you’ve seen and heard about Africa – what they think is happening, what they think she needs, what they think she is. The four things that come to mind when people think of Africa are population, problems, poverty, and promise unfulfilled – headline media reports on the continent but that’s not the whole story.

Perspective changes everything.

My Africa Is wants to show you something different. We’re not about hiding real issues or over-hyping good news. We’re more than aware of the challenges, but we also know that we are not helpless. We hustle. We find ways to overcome. We survive. Every day, we are changing our communities – it may be a process, and it may be a little bit at a time, but we’re changing it nonetheless.

I’m definitely looking forward to the future documentaries made by My Africa is.

Cultural Mark is a feature highlighting influential Africans leaving their impeccable mark on the global community for a positive image of Africans outside of the Diaspora.

About culturaltoast

Cultural Toast is a blogazine run by Chioma, a Nigerian Metropolitan-based fashion writer. This blogazine celebrates with a cultural toast to a post-1960 Nigeria with its focus on entertainment and fashion news. African fashion, style and trends will be readily available on CulturalToast.com.

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Adepero Oduye, Cultural Mark, My Africa Is and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

